Saint Francis de Sales (1567-1622) ON PRAYER

[This is the second of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her. Today is this saint's Feast. For more about him, visit the Saint of the Day blog on the right column of this blog.]

Let us keep our eyes on Jesus Christ to contemplate Him,
our mouth employed to praise Him,
our whole heart intent on nothing less than to please Him without limits.

When you come before the Lord,
talk to Him if you can;
if you can’t, just stay there, let yourself be seen,
and don’t try to be too hard to do anything else.

The chief exercise of prayer is to speak to God
and to hear God speak in the bottom of our heart.

During the course of the day,
recall as often as possible that you are in God’s presence.
Consider what God does and what you are doing.
You will see His eyes turned toward you and
constantly fixed on you with incomparable love.
Then you will say to God,
“O God, why do I not look always at You,
just as You always look at me?
Why do You think so often of me, O Lord, and
why do I think so seldom of You?”
Where are we, O my soul?
God is our true place, and where are we?

A Prayer by St. Francis de Sales
Lord, I am yours,
and I must belong to no one but you.
My soul is yours,
and must live only by you.
My will is yours,
and must love only for you.
I must love you as my first cause,
since I am from you.
I must love you as my end and rest,
since I am for you.
I must love you more than my own being,
since my being subsists by you.
I must love you more than myself,
since I am all yours and all in you.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saint Francis de Sales (1567-1622) ON PRAYER

  1. nancy says:

    I do pray to follow this prayer it sums up what we are to do.

  2. Michelle says:

    After reading St Frances de Sales book it was clear to me that if I wanted to advance in the spiritual life I needed to receive spiritual direction. God blessed me with an amazing priest as a director, a gift I am for ever grateful for, and one that I cherish deeply. Hopefully more and more people will seek good counsel in their spiritual life!

    • Paul Wharton says:

      Michelle,

      I believe in spiritual direction so much I invited four trained and certified spiritual directors to offer parishioners the opportunity for direction. A priest, a nun, and a lay man and woman come monthly. It has been a blessing to the directees who, in turn, have been a blessing to both parishes.

Leave a Reply

