Pentecost 2011

A Prayer to the Holy Spirit

Come, O Holy Spirit, come.
Come like holy fire and burn within me.
Come like holy wind and cleanse me.
Come like holy light and lead me.
Come like holy truth and teach me.
Come like holy love and enfold me.
Come as abundant life and
​Fill me,
​Convert me, and
​Consecrate me
Until I am completely yours.
Come, O Holy Spirit, come.
​​

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pentecost 2011

  1. Fr. Paul, isn’t it awesome how the Holy Spirit inspires us to stretch to the limits? This blog is one way I see you stretching to the limits as a Priest. What I mean is that you have found another way to go the extra miles, so to speak, to nudge us into a world of wonder and mystery, to invite us to think, question, and feel. Thank you very much for helping me start my Pentecost morning ablaze with His strength as I read and meditate on this Prayer to the Holy Spirit. Thank you for the inspiration and will to try a bit of this stretching to the limits, hoping upon hope to be completely His!

Leave a Reply

