Did You Hear About a Priest and a Rabbi…

A Catholic priest was beating his rabbi friend rather handily at their favorite golf course. The priest seemed to make every putt on the front nine. The rabbi noticed that the priest crossed himself before each putt. Finally the rabbi said to his friend, “Would it be alright if I make the sign of the cross before I putt?” Sure,” said the priest, “but it won’t do you any good.” “Why not?” asked the rabbi?” “Because,” said the priest, “you can’t putt.” 

 

 A priest and a rabbi operated a church and a synagogue across
 the street from each other. Since their schedules intertwined,
 they decided to go in together to buy a car.

 After the purchase, they drove it home and parked it on the
 street between them.

 A few minutes later, the rabbi looked out and saw the priest
 sprinkling water on their new car. It didn’t need a wash, so
 he hurried out and asked the priest what he was doing. “I’m
 blessing it,” the priest replied.

 The rabbi considered this a moment, then went back inside the
 synagogue. He reappeared a moment later with a hacksaw, walked
 over to the back of the car and cut off two inches of the
 tailpipe.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Humor, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Did You Hear About a Priest and a Rabbi…

  1. A victim of a hit-and-run accident is lying in the street across from the Catholic Church. A bystander recognizes him as a Catholic, but when he tries to find the priest, he finds him gone to visit the sick. Things look desperate until an old man approaches the dying man and offers to say some final prayers on his behalf. “But you’re Jewish,” says one of the bystanders. “Sure, sure, I’m a Jew,” he says, “but I live behind the church and over the years I’ve learned some prayers I’ve overheard, coming from the church hall. Mind if I try a little?” The bystanders let him approach the dying man, kneel down, and begin praying, “B-12, G-48, 0-68.”

    Sal

Leave a Reply

