A Monk Reflects on the Sacred Heart

Originally found here.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Monk Reflects on the Sacred Heart

  1. It boggles the mind to contemplate the love of Christ! We have no idea at all what it meant for God to send His Son, a Person of Himself, to be born a lowly creature and die a criminal’s death, then rise triumphantly to life again. When I was a boy, I asked my teacher, Sister Alma Rita, “If I became a little ant and lived with other ants and gave my life for the other ants, would that be like Christ dying for us?” She smiled and replied, “You and the ant are both creatures of God. You did not create the ant, but God created us. A God became His creature!” To this day, I am so baffled by that divine love that I cannot seem to make it through Mass without getting choked up inside. And I think to myself, How grand Heaven will be! We will finally understand the love God has for each and everyone of us!

Leave a Reply

