Update and Jokes

An outline of yesterday’s homily has been posted.  Click here to read.]

 
SUNDAY’S JOKE
 
 
After a very long and boring sermon
the parishoners filed out of the church saying nothing to the preacher.
Towards the end of the line was a thoughtful person
who always commented on the sermons.
 
“Pastor, today your sermon reminded me of the peace and love of God!”
 
The pastor was thrilled.
“No-one has ever said anything like that about my preaching before.
​Tell me why.”
 
“Well –
it reminded me of the Peace of God because it passed all understanding
and the Love of God because it endured forever!”
 

An outline of yesterday’s homily has been posted.  Click here to read.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update and Jokes

  1. Joe B says:

    Goggled Concupiscence looking for a good definition and got more eduction than I thought was capable of. That is quite a deep subject that I find hard to get my head around.

  2. Matt Smith says:

    There are several difficulties trying to learn about something like concupiscence.

    First, there are academic difficulties. What is man? What does it mean to be fallen? How does a fallen man arrive back at his proper nature? Are you looking at an Western/Judicial explanation or an Eastern/Medicinal explanation? Contemplating concupiscence without a strong background is like learning calculus without trigonometry.

    Then there are deep spiritual difficulties. It’s easy to fall into despair and terrible heresy (I know people hate that word, but it fits) when studying things like this. Given the fall, what hope remains? Do we go as far as Calvin, claiming that God makes certain men just to cast them into hell? Isaiah says that you need to believe before you can understand, and the study of grace and concupiscence is definitely one of those areas. Don’t go into a real study of it without submitting to the teaching authority of the Church, or you just don’t know what you’ll come out believing.

    Of course, prayerful study of the scriptures will illuminate much of this, just without using the same terms. The important point to come away with is that, through the sacraments, we can overcome this part of us. And when we fail, Christ gave us the sacrament of penance- through confessing our sins we can be reconciled and walk away changed, ready to call on Him to overcome our sinfulness.

Leave a Reply

