Come to the Waters

Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters;
and you who have no money, come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost.
Why spend money on what is not bread,
and your labor on what does not satisfy?
Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good,
and your soul will delight in the richest of fare.
Give ear and come to me; hear me, that your soul may live.
I will make an everlasting covenant with you,
my faithful love promised to David.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Come to the Waters

  1. Matt Smith says:

    This is a passage I can imagine as powerful grist for meditation so long as Deacon Don is the one saying the words while softly strumming his guitar. He has a gift for being able to evoke real, immediate, and personal involvement with scripture like this.,

  2. Loretta Hammond says:

    Next week I’ll be going to Charleston for a couple of days of Silent Retreat. Although a peaceful time for some R & R, it is more a chance to live out the “Come to the Waters” invitation. I’m very much looking forward to the invite to “Come, Listen, Respond & Live in Me”.

    • Paul Wharton says:

      The Almost Heaven retreats are a wonderful opportunity for folks to set aside some quality time with the God who — as St. Augustine so beautifully taught — loves each of us as if we were the only person in this world.

      I will be praying for you and the other retreatants.

  3. Gail Bays says:

    Very nice Fr. Paul and a very beautiful picture!!!

Leave a Reply

