TODAY IS the birthday of Gustav Mahler and Doc Severinson 

If, as St. Augustine wrote, to sing is to pray twice, communal singing is so much easier with the help of good music.   Here are some quotes to think about today:

Music produces a kind of pleasure which human nature cannot do without.
– Confucius

Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.  – Victor Hugo

Take a music bath once or twice a week for a few seasons.
You will find it is to the soul what a water bath is to the body.
– Oliver Wendell Holmes

There is nothing in the world so much like prayer as music is.   – William P. Merrill

Music is very spiritual.
It has the power to bring people together.   – Edgar Winter

For your listening pleasure a short piece by this classical composer: I Am Lost in the World

For those who like jazz, big band, and tunes from the American Songbook, here is Doc Severinson playing Stardust.

[Today is also Ringo Starr’s birthday, but ……]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TODAY IS the birthday of Gustav Mahler and Doc Severinson 

  1. Matt Smith says:

    James Reichmann writes (following Aquinas is spirit, if not in letter) that the purpose of music is to evoke emotions, which makes it one of the signature acts of man.

  2. Gail Bays says:

    I have to say that music mean so much to me. I have had so many people tell me that I was the person that inspired them the most when it came to music. Which of course I must admit makes me feel good. I am happy that I can help someone in someway. Music is just beautiful!!!

    • Paul Wharton says:

      Gifts are meant to be used and shared. Good things can happen when you do. Although some of us ought NOT to be sharing our singing voices quite so loudly’¡

Leave a Reply

