Update and Joke

My Homily notes from yesterday have been posted. Press the tab marked HOMILY NOTES beneath the first heart.

When a mommy asked her girl what was the most interesting thing she learned in that day’s Vacation Bible School, the daughter asked a question of her own. “Do you know what God did when Moses got a headache? God gave him two tablets!”

(Thank you, Julia H. for sharing it with me. As is often the case, it reminds me of another joke.)

A little boy came back from Sunday School and was asked by his mother what they’d studied that morning.

“It was a great war story,” he told his mother, “about Moses and the escape of the Children of Israel from Egypt. Pharaoh sent his entire army after them, with tanks and cannons and machine guns. When the Israelites got to the Red Sea, Moses sent his engineers out to build a pontoon bridge all the way across the sea. Then, after the Israelites got over, he had his sappers put landmines all along the bridge. Then, when Pharaoh’s army got halfway across the sea, Moses pushed down the detonator and blew up all of Pharaoh’s tanks.”

“Now, Johnny!” his mother said, “they didn’t really teach you that in Sunday School did they?”

“Nah,” he said, “but you wouldn’t believe it the way my teacher told it!”

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

