Discussion Question — What Can We Do?

monks Pictures, Images and Photos

[The spiritual journey is one of peaks and valleys — what St. Ignatius of Loyola described as consolations and desolations. What can we do to cooperate with God’s grace? What do we do when it becomes a struggle? Your comments are welcome.

To leave a comment, look down below this message.  You’ll either see some words in bold: “Leave a Reply” or a small link that says either “Leave a Comment” or “x Comments”.

If it says “Leave a Comment” or “x Comments”,  click on those words, then follow the next set of instructions.

If it says “Leave a Reply,”  click in the box that says “Enter your comment here…”
Type out your comment.
Look down and enter your email address.
Then your name.
Then click on the button that says “Post Comment”

Your comment will be posted to the blog internally to be approved.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Discussion Question — What Can We Do?

  1. Slow down. Be patient. Listen. And if necessary, bring lunch and a change of clothes. I try to discipline myself when I bring lunch to make it simple and to eat in slow, purposeful bites, hoping to be able to appreciate God’s presence in each and every bite, each and every cell that is part of each and every morsel, and each and every person who harvested and prepared. That also helps me to appreciate both the consolation and the desolation. As far as the change of clothes is concerned, as long as I keep it simple, why do I need them?

  2. Life is sometimes a struggle. We need to keep reminding ourselves that God is with us in everything we do, bringing a lunch is good , but having the nourshiment from the body and Blood of Jesus Christ helps to keep the spirit within. We need to make a choice of which path we are to take and hope it is right.
    I talk to my pastor ,listen and heed his advice. As far as changing clothes,I would rather change a small speck of my life.

  3. ralph modena says:

    GREAT SITE I still can’t figure how to subscribe so that I receive this everyday. Please send easy directions in your next blog!
    We really need this site and other creative ways to combat the garbage we face everyday! Keep it coming!!
    Ralph Modena

Leave a Reply

