God’s Grace Blows Through My Life

You, O Eternal Trinity,
are a deep sea into which,
the more I enter,
the more I find,
and the more I find,
the more I seek.
O abyss,
O eternal Godhead,
O sea profound,
what more could you give me than yourself?
God’s grace, unsought and unearned,
blows through my life,
and all I need to do
is raise my sails to catch the full wind.

— St. Catherine of Siena 1347-1380

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God’s Grace Blows Through My Life

  1. Gail Bays says:

    Fr. Paul this is so very beautiful and so very true. I love the picture also. Thanks for sharing this with us this AM.

  2. Anne Comeaux says:

    Thanks for this prayer from one of my favorite saints. I needed a little “depth” in my day and this is certainly a piece to spend some time pondering.

  3. abichica says:

    what an amazing picture, its just so soothing.. woowww… and the poem is fitting as well.. i wish to live by that place.. 😀

  4. Karinann says:

    Thanks for this one. I am going to add it to my Sea Readings page on my Voice of the Lord… blog. As you saw from that blog, I love the sea and have no trouble finding God there. St Catherine is also one of my favorite saints.

Leave a Reply

