A Taste of Talmud

Talmud Pictures, Images and Photos

[If I understand it correctly, the Talmud is the most important collection of the Jewish oral tradition interpreting the Torah (the first five books of the Hebrew Scriptures).   There are actually  two Talmuds — The Babylonian and the Jerusalem with the former held in higher regard than the latter due to greater detail.   One scholar compares reading the Talmud to looking at someone else’s notes of a lecture of a lecture you never attended. After only a few hours trying to read a small part of a small part the Babylonian Talmud (translated, of course!), I decided to look at the work rabbis, scholars, and other devout Jews who have picked some of the choicest gems to share with us.  Enjoy this first taste of the Talmud that I hope will whet your appetite for future servings.  Feel free to share which of these quotations speak to you most.]

For the unlearned, old age is winter;
for the learned it is the season of the harvest.

The one that gives should never remember,
The one that receives should never forget.

There are stars who’s light
only reaches the earth long after they have fallen apart.
There are people who’s remembrance gives light in this world,
long after they have passed away.
This light shines in our darkest nights on the road we must follow.

If someone  says to you, ‘You are a donkey’, pay no heed.
If two say it, it’s time to buy a saddle.

Hope for a miracle. But don’t depend on one.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Taste of Talmud

  1. WOW … Too difficult to vote for just one.

    Thank you Father.

    God bless.

  2. Wisdom brightly packaged. Thank you for unwrapping it and starting my day in a Talmud way.

  3. Gail Bays says:

    Those were hard choices. But I think I voted for the one that was most fitting, since I could not choose more than one……lol. This was great Fr. Paul.

  4. There’s much wisdom in the Talmud. Thanks for sharing some of it with us.

Leave a Reply

