The Potter and the Clay

The word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord:
‘Come, go down to the potter’s house,
and there I will let you hear my words.’
So I went down to the potter’s house,
and there he was working at his wheel.
The vessel he was making of clay
was spoiled in the potter’s hand,
and he reworked it into another vessel,
as seemed good to him.

Then the word of the Lord came to me:
Can I not do with you, O house of Israel,
just as this potter has done? says the Lord.
Just like the clay in the potter’s hand,
so are you in my hand, O house of Israel.

— Jeremiah 18:1-6

[This beautiful reading from today’s Mass has much to say to us about God and how the grace of God can remake us and give us new beginnings. Take time to think and pray about and with this Word of the Lord. From You Tube comes a United Methodist choir version of a Carey Landry tune.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Potter and the Clay

  1. abichica says:

    i really enjoyed reading this.. keep up the good work.. 🙂

    • Paul Wharton says:

      Thank you. I see that you are a budding writer. Keep at it. One of my contributors — Agnes Mills — was surprised to discover that she loves writing after she accepted an invitation in the bulletin to write reflections on the Sunday readings.

      • abichica says:

        Wooww.. thank you for the compliment..iv always just written for myself since i was 10 years old, but iv never really shared any of it until now.. and now i realize that people actually enjoy my poem.. its a real blessing.. :-)..

  2. I enjoyed you sharing this with us. I gave the choir a double look because it looked like you on the right in the back row. Wonder what will be put on the blog tomorrow. Thanks, for using your spare time wisely.

  3. Thank you Father Paul.

    That song brought back many memories.

    God bless.

  4. sandscript02 says:

    ‘So important for us to remember that we don’t have to create ourselves! When we are open to His creative will, God is constantly helping us become useful, beautiful and joyful vessels of of His love. Thank you for this blog, Fr. Paul. It is a blessing!

  5. Hi Father Paul, that is a moving and beautiful song! I’m curious what you mean by spiritual direction. Is that different from a bible study?

  6. Paul Wharton says:

    Dear Noreen,

    While spiritual direction can be done in groups, it is typically done one-on-one between the director and directee. In the file located below the second heart above is a good article on the topic. Anyone can call him or her self a spiritual director, but unless the person is a saint like Padre Pio or Teresa of Avila, you should probably steer clear. The difference between working with a trained, certified director and one who is self-proclaimed is like difference between having dinner at a five-star restaurant and eating at McDonalds! A genuine director makes suggestions and doesn’t give orders and is more like a companion than a tour guide.

    Anyone who is serious about their relationship with God can benefit from working with a certified director. By the way, most priests are NOT trained in how to do real spiritual direction. For more information and a listing of certified directors in your area, please check out Spiritual Directors International at their website:http://www.sdiworld.org I hope you’ll look into it.

Leave a Reply

