A Place to Pray

old forest Pictures, Images and Photos

The story is told of two friends who lived next door to each other on the border of one of the last stands of virgin forest in Appalachia.  The one noticed the other would disappear into the forest for thirty minutes or more nearly every evening.   One day, when  curiosity got the better of him, he followed him  to learn what his friend was up to.  He found him sitting atop a rock next to a gurgling stream.

He asked, “What are you doing?”

The man answered.  “I’m praying.”

The curious neighbor continued, “But why way out here?”

“Because God is here.”

“But God is everywhere. Isn’t God the same everywhere?”

With a laugh and a smile, he replied, “God is.  But I am not.”

[Something to consider: some find it helpful to set aside a room (when possible) or to create a shrine in part of a room as a place to pray regularly. A shrine might include a cross or crucifix, icons, statues, candle(s), pictures and other religious art, and etcetera.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Place to Pray

  1. Linda Trill says:

    So true. I myself get caught up in the everyday if I don’t set aside a quiet place to pray. We have too many distractions in our lives. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. I like this and I usually set a time aside to pray.The power of prayer…….

Leave a Reply

