Jesus Walks on Water

[In Catholic and many other Christian churches today people will hear the story of Jesus Walking on Water as told by St. Matthew. First up is a brief animated telling of the gospel. Once you get over the fact that St. Peter speaks with a decidedly British accent, you can see this as a fine example of what can happen you imagine yourself as being St. Peter or one of the other apostles. To begin, press the triangle in the middle of the picture below.]

[Okay, baby boomers and music aficionados, what popular song does this remind you of? Here is a wonderful version by Anne Murry, What’s not to like? It has
1) roots in folk music world so popular back in the day;
2) bell bottoms;
3) a brief but nice saxophone riff towards the end.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jesus Walks on Water

  1. Thank you, Father Paul, for helping me get into the right mindset (and soul-set) for the rest of my day. It is early morning here in Northern Michigan and I’ve just watched the two videos while sitting out on the deck with my first cup of coffee and there is a big doe in back of me eating from the apple tree, the first birds awakening, and three Canadian geese fly over in their own harmony, and a vast horizon in front of me which seems to reach way beyond the unknown. And then there’s the quiet, and a fresh breeze arises, and I try to imagine Elijah in the quiet and Jesus trying to get off alone in his own private prayer and Peter and the others in the boat as they were possibly awe-struck by hills of Galilee surrounding the lake and, suddenly, the surprise, the absolutely unpredictable. To hear Peter describe the experience as a Brit only reinforces the universality of our cosmic God. To hear Anne Murray sing about it reminds me that our God is a God of bell bottoms too, and that our God empowers us with the freedom to stand before thousands and sing about the wonder of it all. Thank you Father Paul for providing the richness of hearing Peter tell the story with all the emotions, and the depth of the imagery, and the music. You certainly have helped this seventy year-old codger to better appreciate it all and to realize that church this morning will be more richer when I listen to the readings, the preaching, and the words of the liturgy. And who knows what I might hear in the voices of the quiet and the gentle breeze and the birds and the geese throughout the rest of the day?

  2. Let us imagine … really imagine, that this scene happened today and we are in the boat with the disciples. Would we really have the courage … the Faith, true Faith … to step out of the boat and walk towards Jesus? Let’s be honest with ourselves now, (including me), would we REALLY step out of the boat? Or would there be that 1% doubt lurking at the back of our minds holding us back … just in case.

    What’s the use having a leader who walks on water if we’re not prepared to follow Him?

    God bless.

    • Paul Wharton says:

      A very good question you ask. Usually, when I preach on a miracle story I ask myself two questions.
      What does this story tell us about Jesus?
      What does it tell us about discipleship?

  3. Karinann says:

    Father,
    This clip brings out something I read about Peter in Magnificat this morning- that is perhaps it was his pride that caused him to take his eyes off Jesus. (as it does for me as well at times) Still, I give him credit for at least getting out of the boat. Your questions above make for good meditation and reflection on this passage.
    Thanks too for the trip down memory lane with Anne Murray 🙂

  4. Fr. Paul,
    I enjoyed this very much. I played the song Anne Murray”Put your hand in the hand of the man from Galilee.”and Johnny Cash. I have not heard this song for years. I appreciate my freedom and would reach to put my hand in the man’s hand and be a follower.

Leave a Reply

