The Moon is Full Tonight

[Tonight the moon will be full. If weather permits, take time to step out side and enjoy one of God’s most majestic creations.  Here are some quotations to think about:]

When I see your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and stars that you set in place–
What are humans that you are mindful of them,
mere mortals that you care for them?
Yet you have made them little less than a god,
crowned them with glory and honor.
–Psalm 8:3

Don’t mistake the finger pointing at the moon for the moon.
–Zen Saying

Enlightenment is like the moon reflected on the water.
The moon does not get wet, nor is the water broken.
Although its light is wide and great,
the moon is reflected even in a puddle an inch wide.
The whole moon and the entire sky
are reflected in one dewdrop on the grass.
–Dogen

…the growing and dying of the moon
reminds us of our ignorance which comes and goes;
but when the moon is full it is as if
the eternal light of the Great Spirit were  upon the whole world.
–Black Elk

We need to find God,
and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness.
God is the friend of silence.
See how nature – trees, flowers, grass- grows in silence;
see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence…
We need silence to be able to touch souls.
–Blessed Mother Teresa of Calcutta

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Moon is Full Tonight

  1. Mike Gutelius says:

    Fr. Paul, I have enjoyed your blog immensely! It has become a staple in my morning surf because I find it so affirming, relevant, and grounding. As I am sure you can imagine, I am often hung up in the steady day to day duties that we all plod through and I am so grateful for the thoughts you post that help me stay centered. This post was even more poignant for me because as we practiced last night, I had trouble taking my eyes off of that glorious decoration in the sky.

    Kimberly, the kids and I all miss our Sacred Heart family, thank you for allowing us to feel connected through your blog!

  2. Thank you, Fr. Paul, for reminding us to “look up”. What a gift it is to have eyes that see and a mind that appreciates the glory of a God given moon!

Leave a Reply

