One WYD Patron Saint – St. John of the Cross

[World Youth Day is this week at Madrid, Spain. Hundreds of thousands of Catholics will come together to celebrate the Catholic faith. A group of pilgrims from Sacred Heart as well a few other places are there. One of the Patron Saints for WYD is St. John of the Cross. Among many other teachings perhaps his best known are his writings about the “dark night of the soul.” What follows are some of his sayings gathered together in a work Sayings of Light and Love. I invite you to choose the one that speaks to you most in the poll. You are also welcome to explain why in the comments section at the bottom.]

O Lord, my God,
who will seek you with simple and pure love,
and not find that you are all one can desire,
for you show yourself first and
go out to meet those who seek you? # 2

My spirit has become dry because it forgets to feed on you.  # 39

In tribulation, immediately draw near to God with trust,
and you will receive strength, enlightenment, and instruction.  # 66

Strive to preserve your heart in peace; let no event of this world disturb it; reflect that all must come to an end.  # 154

Anyone who complains or grumbles is not perfect, nor even a good Christian. # 162

[You can buy the icon here.  For more information about St. John of the Cross, look here.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

