St. Paul on the Love of God

If God is for us, who can be against us?

​Is it possible that he who did not spare his own Son

​but handed him over for the sake of us all

​will not grant us all things besides?

​Who shall bring a charge against God’s chosen ones?

​God, who justifies?

​Who shall condemn them?

​Christ Jesus, who died or rather was raised up,

​who is at the right hand of God and intercedes for us?

​Who will separate us from the love of Christ?

​Trial or distress, or persecution or hunger or nakedness

​or danger or the sword?

​Yet in all this we are more than conquerors

​because of him who has loved us.

​For I am certain that neither death nor life,

​neither angels or principalities, neither the present

nor the future, neither height nor depth nor any other creature

​will be able to separate us from the love of God

​that comes to us in Christ Jesus our Lord.

–​  Romans 8:31-35. 37-39

[God’s love IS unconditional which is good news indeed. But there are times when WE separate ourselves from God. What are some of the ways we allow ourselves to be separated from God? I can think of half a dozen. Feel free to share or comment by:

Look down below this message.  You’ll either see some words in bold: “Leave a Reply” or a small link that says either “Leave a Comment” or “x Comments”.

If it says “Leave a Comment” or “x Comments”,  click on those words, then follow the next set of instructions.

If it says “Leave a Reply,”  click in the box that says “Enter your comment here…”

Type out your comment.

Look down and enter your email address.

Then your name.

Then click on the button that says “Post Comment”

Your comment will be posted to the blog internally to be approved.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to St. Paul on the Love of God

  1. Bonnie H Blackwelder says:

    There have been a few times when I moved away from God, but in 2006 I totally separted myself from God. I was angry and felt betrayed by God. Where was his protection. You see I was a teacher and it was my passion and brought such joy to my life. It seemed my career always lead me to what other may have called the unloveable or the unteachable child. With God’s guidance I learned more from those precious children than one could believe. Then on May 2, 2006 my life was forever changed. A terrible fight swarmed across my classroom. One boy had threatened to kill another boy. I had my assistant get all the children away from this violent young man. I knew I must restrain him and take him to the office. As I restrained him he picked me up and threw me into a brick wall. Seven back surgeries later I was told I would have severe chronic pain and that I was totally disabled. Why me God? I believed I was living His purpose for me and that I was making a difference. I shut God out so completely the wind could not get through. It has taken me five years to ask God to forgive me for my anger. I still don’t understand why yet or what I am suppose to do. That has not been revealed to me. He does put opportunities in front of me so I may be a christian and dispaly my faith or an act of kindndess. I am winning this battle.

    • Paul Wharton says:

      In the first reading at Mass last Sunday, the very agitated prophet Jeremiah expresses his anger at God, “You duped me!” Anger is an emotion and as such neither good nor bad. It’s what we do or don’t do with our feelings that gets us into trouble. God can handle our anger much better than we can. In the gospel at the same Mass, Jesus speaks of the conditions of discipleship. I invite you to read my homily notes.

      I am so sorry to hear about your physical and spiritual anguish. Working with an accredited and trained spiritual director can help us when we find ourselves in a spiritual struggle. For a list of people in your area, consult Spiritual Directors International website.

      Everytime you think about that awful day in the classroom, remember the experience you shared with me more than 20 years ago (sigh!) of a second grade (?) student of your began flunking because he or she thought he or she would never see you again. What a wonderful story!

  2. Thank you for more inspiring words! Sandy B.

Leave a Reply

