Silly Saturday – Classic Cartoon

[Saturday mornings meant cartoons and Captain Crunch Cereal to get us wound up. The Walt Disney Corporation is rooted in animation. Many of their cartoons were educational as well as fun. What was your favorite cartoon SHOW growing up?]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Silly Saturday – Classic Cartoon

  1. Kristen O'Sullivan Harrison says:

    My birthday is September 9th, growing up when my birthday fell on a Saturday it was usually the same saturday tghat the new season of cartoons would begin…I felt like thed LUCKIEST kid in the world… like t was all done just for me 🙂

  2. I thank you for the memories. I used to stay in my pajamas and eat cereal the watch cartoons in the mornings. We did not have electronics like thay did years ago, guess I am telling my age. But I enjoyed Saturdays, I remember going to the theater for movies, going home to a home cooked meal. Popcorn, milkduds and coke at movies.

  3. Donna Taylor says:

    My brothers and I used to “color” all Saturday morning watching the cartoons and then go ice skating at the rink down the street. In the back room of the rink was where we had Mass for at least a year as St. Pius X Church was starting up in Cherry Hill, NJ, so we heard the ice skating music at Mass. Memories!

  4. Walt Disney was a favorite. The early cartoons were so well drawn and painted – Snow White is a great example. I also liked Tom & Jerry and the Flinstones and the Looney Tunes character. Bugs Bunny, something or other Sam (Cowboy with red beard), Daffy Duck … Oh I can go on about cartoons for ages.

    Thanx for the memories Father.

    God bless.

  5. CAROLYN GIPSON says:

    Yosemite Sam, I believe. Watched all those plus Roy Rogers/Dale Evans, Cisco Kid, Gene Autrie.

  6. Bobbie Showalter says:

    here comes the age difference…my favorite radio show on Saturday morning was “Let’s Pretend” and I would sit on the arm of the chair eating my Cream of Wheat…why Cream of Wheat that was the product advertised by that program and it would be unfaithful to eat anything else…..years later the cartoon at the theatre was “Tweety Bird.” To this day this little yellow bird that always out witted Sylvestor the cat brings a smile.

Leave a Reply

