Misplaced Priorities

A baker wanted to meet a well-known guru or holy man.
So the guru went to the bakery disguised as a beggar.
He began to eat a bread roll

The baker beat him and threw him out into the street.
One of his disciples said,
“Are you crazy?  You just threw out
the master you wanted to know?”

Contrite,
the baker asked
what he could do for him to forgive him.
The holy man asked him
to invite him and his disciples to eat.

The baker took them to an excellent restaurant
and ordered the most expensive dishes.

“That is how we distinguish the good man from the bad man,” said the guru to the disciples, in the middle of lunch.

“This man is capable of spending ten gold coins
on a banquet because I am famous,
but he is incapable of giving a bread roll
to feed a hungry beggar.”

[I believe this was taken from Paul Coehelo’s website.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

