L is for Letting Go

Do everything with a mind that lets go.
Do not expect any praise or reward.
If you let go a little, you will have a little peace.
If you let go a lot, you will have a lot of peace.
If you let go completely, you will know complete peace and freedom.
Your struggles with the world
will have come to an end.
–achaan chan

Let go and let God.
— Alcoholics Anonymous

Everything becomes easy when we let go of ourselves. — Blessed Pope John XXIII

    Letting Go

I have realized that the reason I am
suffering, stuck, in pain, and paralyzed,
is the fact that despite
talking, telling, teaching and writing about ‘letting go’,
I don’t actually do it!!

I now have to let go of:

The past
My attachment to parents, family, friends
My false self, old self, ego
Attachment to memories, events, places
Fear, even the fear of letting go
Guilt
Blame
Shame
The label/fact of being adopted
Doubt
The known, ideas of security
Other people’s opinions of me,
Judgments about me
My own judgments
Some core false beliefs about myself and life
My conditioning by and attachment to the world
My defenses
The future

I will have to let all of these (and more) go when I die,
so I may as well release them before.
The bottom line is that I have accumulated
so much baggage during my life so far
that I can’t move on until I let some of it go.

I am life and life goes on, forwards, evolving, unfolding;
like a river that flows forever.
All of this accumulated crap is in my mind,
forming the crust/dust of my ego.
Basically at a deep level it is not Real.
Only Love is Real and only the unReal can be threatened or lost.

— Copyright © 2004 Simon Heighwaya

Source here

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Quotations, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to L is for Letting Go

  1. Karen Harvey says:

    Actually, “Let go and let God” is from the Unity Church, which began its close relationship with AA in New York. The son of the minister’s secretary was one of the first members of AA, and the philosophies of each have influenced the other.

    • Paul Wharton says:

      I did not know that. Thanks for sharing. Bill W. Had a long-time relationship with a Jesuit priest. Some of the ideas in the Big Book have roots in the spirituality of St. Ignatius of Loyla, the founder of the Jesuits.

  2. Gail Bays says:

    Thank you Fr. for posting this. This is something that is so very hard for me to do that I must learn to do.

Leave a Reply

