TODAY IS the Feast of St. Francis of Assisi

[Francis of Assisi (1181 – 1226) is one of the beloved and written about saints of the Church. The reasons for this are many. Here are some of them that come to mind as I prepare this post:
1. Francis dared believe one could live the gospel in his day and age.
2. Although he lived in extreme poverty, he is a model for those wanting to live more simply.
3. His love for animals is well known. I suspect he would be horrified to see his image used to sell everything from birdbaths to night lights.
4. The saint is credited with the development and popularity of live nativity scenes and their handmade and manufactured counterparts.
5. His Canticle of Creation inspires professional and amateur ecologists alike.
6. Francis commitment to and love for the gospel has drawn countless men and women from his day and thereafter to religious priests, brothers, and sisters (not to mention the many lay Franciscans).

Two items for consideration: the Canticle of Creation and a sung version of the Prayer of St. Francis.]

O Most High, all-powerful, good Lord God,
to you belong praise, glory,
honour and all blessing.
Be praised, my Lord, for all your creation
and especially for our Brother Sun,
who brings us the day and the light;
he is strong and shines magnificently.
O Lord, we think of you when we look at him.
Be praised, my Lord, for Sister Moon,
and for the stars
which you have set shining and lovely
in the heavens.
Be praised, my Lord,
for our Brothers Wind and Air
and every kind of weather
by which you, Lord,
uphold life in all your creatures.
Be praised, my Lord, for Sister Water,
who is very useful to us,
and humble and precious and pure.
Be praised, my Lord, for Brother Fire,
through whom you give us light in the darkness:
he is bright and lively and strong.
Be praised, my Lord,
for Sister Earth, our Mother,
who nourishes us and sustains us,
bringing forth
fruits and vegetables of many kinds
and flowers of many colours.
Be praised, my Lord,
for those who forgive for love of you;
and for those
who bear sickness and weakness
in peace and patience
– you will grant them a crown.
Be praised, my Lord, for our Sister Death,
whom we must all face.
I praise and bless you, Lord,
and I give thanks to you,
and I will serve you in all humility.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

