Prayer of St. Francis for People in Recovery

[The Prayer of St. Francis is much beloved prayer. I posted a sung version of it yesterday morning. Some people in Alcoholics Anonymous use it as a Third Step Prayer: “Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood him.” I present a version of the prayer adapted for people in 12 Step Recovery Programs.
This version comes to us by way of a good friend Bob Martin whose blog — Recovery Thoughts — can be accessed by clicking on it in the right-hand column. If you have friends and/or family in a 12 Step Program, let them mow about this prayer as well as Bob and my blogs.]

Lord, make me a instrument of your Serenity
Where there is addiction, let me bring Recovery
Where there is loneliness, let me bring Friendship
Where there is hatred, let me bring Love
Where there is hurt, let me bring the Forgiveness
Where there is error, let me bring Truth
Where there is silence, let me bring Listening
Where there is fear, let me bring Courage.
Where there is doubt, let me bring Faith
Where there is despair, let me bring Hope
Where there is darkness, let me bring Light
Where there is sadness, let me bring Joy.

Lord, grant that I may seek
To bring Comfort, rather than to be comforted
To bring Understanding, rather than to be understood
To bring Love, rather than to be loved.
For it is by Forgiving, that we are forgiven.
For it is by Living the 12 Steps, that we are granted a Daily Reprieve
And it is by Dying to our old life, that we Awaken to a New Life of Sobriety

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

