Feel Free to Improvise

[People of faith have seemed to always be writing, sharing and using prayers written by others. One purpose of this blog is to share from time to time wonderful prayers that are part of the Catholic tradition and other faiths.   The recent introduction of the FOREVER Jazz postage stamp reminds me that we ought to feel free to improvise while praying written prayers on our own.  For about five years or so beginning in Fall 2003, I prayed ancient prayer known as the Te Deum as a warm up to my time of morning prayer. However, I felt moved by the Holy Spirit to make this prayer my own by improvising.    I include this only by way of example of something I have done in personal, private prayer.  My additions are in capital letters and italics. If you aren’t doing so already, you might ask God if God wants you to be open to the possibility.]

You are God, we praise you.
You are Lord, we acclaim you.
All creation worships you,
the Father everlasting.
To you all angels, all the powers of heaven,
cherubim and seraphim, sing in endless praise:
Holy, holy, holy Lord, God of power and might,
heaven and earth are full of your glory.
The glorious company of apostles praise you.
The noble fellowship of prophets praise you.
The white-robed army of martyrs praise you.

I, your grateful and unworthy servant
praise you, bless you, worship you, adore you,
glorify you, thank you, and love you.

Throughout the world the holy Church acclaims you:
Father of majesty AND MERCY unbounded,
your true and only Son, JESUS CHRIST, worthy of all worship,
the Holy Spirit, advocate, COMFORTER and guide.

Glory be to the Father, 
and to the Son, 
And to the Holy Spirit!
Blessed be the Lord our God,
blessed from age to age!
My soul is thirsting for you, come, merciful Father.
My soul is thirsting for you, come, Lord Jesus.
My soul is thirsting for you, come, Holy Spirit.
My soul is thirsting for you, most Holy Trinity,
touch my life more deeply. 

You, Christ, are the king of glory,
the eternal Son of the Father.
When you became human to set us free
you did not spurn the virgin’s mother’s womb.
Instead You overcame the sting of death,
and opened the kingdom of heaven to all believers.
You are seated at God’s right hand in glory.
We believe that you will come again to be our judge.
Come then, Lord, and help your people,
bought with the price of your own blood,
and bring us with your saints to glory everlasting.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

