A Reason for SOME Of the Trials We Experience in Life

The present life is but a road 
by which we advance to our homeland.
Because of this, by a secret judgment, 
we are subjected to frequent disturbance
so that we do not have more love
for the journey than the destination.
Some travelers,
whenever they see pleasant fields by the road,
contrive to linger there and thus they deviate
from the route undertaken in the journey.
As long as they are charmed by the beauty of the journey,
their steps are slowed.
It is for this reason that the Lord
makes the path through this world 
rough for his chosen ones
who are on their way towards him.
This is so none may take pleasure in this world’s rest 
or find refreshment in the beauty of the journey
and thus prefer to continue the journey for a long time
rather than to arrive quickly. 

–St. Gregory the Great (540-604)
Moral Commentary on the Book of Job

Prayer: Psalm 42:1-5

As a deer longs for flowing streams,
   so my soul longs for you, O God. 
My soul thirsts for God,
   for the living God.
When shall I come and behold
   the face of God? 
My tears have been my food
   day and night,
while people say to me continually,
   ‘Where is your God?’ 

These things I remember,
   as I pour out my soul:
how I went with the throng,
   and led them in procession to the house of God,
with glad shouts and songs of thanksgiving,
   a multitude keeping festival. 
Why are you cast down, O my soul,
   and why are you disquieted within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
   my help and my God. 
   

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

