Your Cross According to St. Francis de Sales (1567-1622)

Your Cross

The everlasting God has in His wisdom foreseen from eternity
the cross that He now presents to you as a gift from His inmost heart.
This cross He now sends you He has
considered with His all-knowing eyes,
understood with His divine mind,
tested with His wise justice,
warmed with loving arms and
weighed with His own hands to see that it be
not one inch too large and
not one ounce too heavy for you.
He has blessed it with His holy Name,
anointed it with His consolation,
taken one last glance at you and your courage, and then
sent it to you from heaven,
a special greeting from God to you,
an alms of the all-merciful love of God.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Your Cross According to St. Francis de Sales (1567-1622)

  1. Anne Comeaux says:

    Since the crosses which have come to me have not been terribly difficult…yet…I find this spritually helpful. However, it seems to come close to “God won’t send you anything which you can’t handle.” I have come to believe that this is a difficult statement to digest. First of all, it puts God as the “bad guy” for SENDING something bad (which I don’t believe is the case). It also tells an individual that if they breakdown, don’t act appropriately,etc. they are inferior. I have been with some very holy people who have broken under their crosses because of lack of support…physical, emotional, financial, psychological or medical… or because of an illness that is physical or otherwise. It is not always a question of having faith. In spite of this, I appreciate St. Francis de Sales!

    • Paul Wharton says:

      Good points. The problem — rather, mystery — of evil and suffering is as complicated as it is age-old. There is an hour long a presentation I do which explores 11 different ways people have tried to explain why bad things happen to good people. Only two hold any water whatsoever. I specifically reject the idea of a test for the same reasons you identify and a few more. Take a look at the post for June 22, 2011 — “God Leads a Sheltered Life.”

      Still, this saint’s writings still provoke thoughts deliver good insights. Thank you for your comments.

Leave a Reply

