A Prayer by Saint Dimitri of Rostov (1651-1709) 

A Prayer of Invitation to Christ

Open, O doors and bolts of my heart, that Christ the King of Glory may enter!
Enter, O my Light, and enlighten my darkness;
Enter, O my Life, and resurrect my deadness;
Enter, O my Physician, and heal my wounds;
Enter, O Divine Fire, and burn up the thorns of my sins;
Ignite my inward parts and my heart with the flame of Thy love;
Enter, O my King, and destroy in me the kingdom of sin;
Sit on the throne of my heart and reign in me alone, O Thou, my King and Lord.

— Saint Dimitri of Rostov (1651-1709)

[Today is the Russian Orthodox Feast of St. Dmitri of Rostov.  He would pray this before receiving communion.  He is perhaps best known for his Life of the Saints he worked on throughout his life.  Here is one of many stories about this holy Russian monk, ascetic, mystic, and writer:]

A robber used to go out to steal and said a “Hail Mary” before an icon by the door of his home. One day,as he was praying to ask God and His Mother for a successful night, the Child Jesus started to move and raised up His arms as blood began to drip from His Hands.  The Mother of God then turned to the thief and said, “Do you see what you do to My Son when you pray to me to help you steal?”  The robber converted and became a monk.  The icon was studied by St Dmitri and he recommended the Orthodox Church declare it miraculous – which it is to this day.]

Source of icon

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

