TODAY IS the Feast of Russian Orthodox Saint  Philaret 1782-1867, Metropolitan of Moscow.

[Here are two beautiful prayers written by a Russian Orthodox saint to add to your collection of “off-the-rack” prayers.”

Lord, give me the strength to greet the coming day in peace.
Help me in all things to rely on Your holy will.
Reveal Your will to me every hour of the day.
Bless my dealings with all people.
Teach me to treat all people who come to me throughout the day
with peace of soul and with firm conviction that Your will governs all.
In all my deeds and words guide my thoughts and feelings.
In unexpected events, let me not forget that all are sent by you.
Teach me to act firmly and wisely, without embittering and embarrassing others. Give me the physical strength to bear the labors of this day.
Direct my will, teach me to pray, pray in me. Amen.

Lord, I know not what to ask of You.
You alone know what my true needs are.
You love me more than I myself know how to love.
Help me to see my real needs which may be hidden from me.
I dare not ask for either a cross or a consolation.
I can only wait upon You; my heart is open to You.
Visit and help me in Your steadfast love.
Strike me and heal me; cast me down and raise me up.
I worship in silence Your holy will.
I offer myself as a living sacrifice.
I put all my trust in You.
I have no other desire than to fulfil Your will.
Teach me to pray. Pray Yourself in me.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TODAY IS the Feast of Russian Orthodox Saint  Philaret 1782-1867, Metropolitan of Moscow.

  1. Anne Comeaux says:

    This prayer is going on my bathroom mirror as my new “Morning Offering.” It is so beautiful and inclusive of thanks and needs.

  2. Emma Doughton says:

    I also am going to keep this prayer close by and read it every day. It is beautiful.

  3. Claire T. Lampert says:

    Rask or rack ?

Leave a Reply

