A Song and a Prayer for the Second Sunday in Advent

 
[For this second Sunday of Advent there are two versions of that ancient and ever-new song O Come O Come, Emmanuel.  The first an elegant classical version of this Latin hymn.   WARNING: The second version is a jazzier and more upbeat version.  I am also including a prayer for this day by Michael Spencer.  I do not know it’s source.]

TRADITIONAL:

JAZZY:

Almighty and most merciful Father, 
we come to the season of Advent with 
the brokenness of the world in our eyes, 
the cries of our fellow human beings in our ears 
and our own sinfulness in our hearts. 
We come to Bethlehem, as those who need a Savior. 
We come to the light because the darkness has almost 
overwhelmed us, but the darkness can never overcome You. 
We come to Bethlehem as invited guests; 
to see, to wonder and to be changed 
by the Child Messiah who is Jesus. 
For his sake, and by his grace, forgive our sins. 
Give us hope and eternal life. 
Help us to move through a worldly holiday of excess 
to a worshipful Advent and Christmas. 
For Jesus’ sake, and through Jesus we pray. Amen.

–Michael Spencer

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

