Don’t Just Do Something, Be – (Mystic Monday Motivation)

A holy was walking from one town to another
with a few of his followers when they came a pond.
They stopped and the elderly saint said one of his disciples,
“I am thirsty. Please get me some water from that pool.”
But as the disciple reached it, a bullock cart started crossing through it.
As a result, the water became very cloudy.
He thought,  “How can I give this muddy water to the master to drink?”
So he came back and said  “The water there is very muddy;
I don’t think it is fit to drink.”

After about half an hour, the holy man asked
the same disciple to go back to and get him some water.
Once more,  he found that the pond was muddy and so told his master.
After a while the saint sent the same disciple yet again.
Now the pond was clean and clear for the mud had settled down.
So he filled a bowl with water and returned.

The holy man looked at the water and then at the disciple and said,
”See what you did to make the water clean. You let it be
and the mud settled down on its own – and you got clear water.
Your mind is also like that! When it is disturbed, just let it be.
Give it a little time. It will settle down on its own.
You don’t have to do anything. Just be.”

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Don’t Just Do Something, Be – (Mystic Monday Motivation)

  1. It’s the old story that teaches us how essential the virtue of patience is. We seem to always be rushing to somewhere or wanting some prayer answered right now. We need to realize if we slow down the pace our destination will still be there when we arrive. And as for expecting prayers to be like pizza orders, forget it. God replies in His own good time. We may in our impatience misread the waiting period as God’s disregard for what we ask Him for, the unspoken no. We must admit that God Who knows, not only the past, present and future, but also the conditional, weighs every scenario linked to our prayer and will not answer it at the wrong time or at a time when it could make us regret praying at all.

    I for one am an impatient man. One of my prayers is to ask for just a particle of Job’s ability to wait on God’s graces.

  2. Such a good post for this rushed time of year. Thanks

  3. Claire T. Lampert says:

    A good post for any time of the year…I have reflected on Mary’s patient watching and waiting since Saturday. I often exhibit surface patience but internally I am often boiling with impatience. I need to learn how to wait.

  4. This story provides a very important lesson to all artists, especially sacred artists, who busy with all the tasks of the day still try to create something beautiful for God. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

