St. Basil the Great (329-379) ON PRAYER

[This is the first of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.  Today is this saint’s Feast. For more about him, visit the Saint of the Day blog on the right column of this blog.]

Be people of prayer;
like to pray;
give an example of prayerfulness
and rest assured,
that your prayers will be heard.

What the sun is for the body,
prayer is for the soul.
While it is a misfortune for the blind
not to see the sun,
then what a great misfortune
it would be for the Christian not to pray
and not to bring the light of Christ
into the soul through prayer?

Wherever you may be,
you can pray anywhere.
Only show good will,
and neither place nor time will be a hindrance for you.
And although you might not be bending your knees,
nor beating your breast,
or raising your arms to heaven,
but have merely displayed a fervent soul,
by this you will have fulfilled everything
necessary for prayer…
God does not regard the place.
He desires only a sincere heart and a meek soul.

A Prayer by St. Basil the Great
I bless You, O Lord.
Though I am powerless, You strengthen my weakness.
You stretch from above Your helping hand
and bring me back unto Yourself.
What shall I render to You, O all-good Master,
for all the good things You have done
and continue to do for me, the sinner?
I will cease not to bless You all the days of my life,
my Creator,
my Benefactor,
and my Guardian.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to St. Basil the Great (329-379) ON PRAYER

  1. Donna Taylor says:

    I love this prayer….I am all inspired for the new year…..

Leave a Reply

