HALLMARK THEOLOGY: When God Is All You’ve Got

[When I was in college seminary, we students sometimes made snide comments about “Hallmark Theology,” which was something easy to understand, syruppy sweet, memorable, and small enough to fit on a greeting card. Now that I am older, wiser, and a lot less cynical, I actually enjoy some hallmark theology. Of course, as with choosing greeting cards, time and care are needed in the selection process.  This poem is part of a collection of poems with the same title and was written by Linda E. Knight.]

When God Is All You’ve Got, You’ve Got More Than Enough

God is your stronghold,
and with Him as your guide,
you need never be afraid.
No circumstances can block His love.
No grief is too hard for Him to bear.
No task is too difficult
For Him to complete.
When what you are feeling
Is simply too deep for words
And nothing anyone does or says
Can provide you with the relief you need,
God understands.
He is your provider —
Today, tomorrow, and always. And He loves you.
Cast all of your cares on Him…
And believe.
— Linda E. Knight

Link to source

[Heartlight provides positive resources for daily Christian Living.   LINK TO HEARTLIGHT]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

