The Call of Jeremiah: What is YOUR Excuse?  

The word of the LORD came to me:

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
before you were born I dedicated you,
a prophet to the nations I appointed you.”

“Ah, Lord GOD!” I said,
“I do not know how to speak. I am too young!”

But the LORD answered me,
“Do not say, ‘I am too young.’
To whomever I send you, you shall go;
whatever I command you, you shall speak.
Do not be afraid of them,
for I am with you to deliver you—oracle of the LORD.”

Then the LORD extended his hand and touched my mouth, saying to me,

“See, I place my words in your mouth!
Today I appoint you
over nations and over kingdoms,
To uproot and to tear down,
to destroy and to demolish,
to build and to plant.”

Jeremiah 1:4-10

[Scripture texts in this work are taken from the New American Bible, revised edition © 2010, 1991, 1986, 1970 Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, Washington, D.C. and are used by permission of the copyright owner. All Rights Reserved. No part of the New American Bible may be reproduced in any form without permission in writing from the copyright owner.]

[The image is from the Sistine Chapel in Vatican City courtesy of wikimedia commons. The work of art depicted in this image and the reproduction thereof are in the public domain worldwide. The reproduction is part of a collection of reproductions compiled by The Yorck Project. The compilation copyright is held by Zenodot Verlagsgesellschaft mbH and licensed under the GNU Free Documentation License.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Call of Jeremiah: What is YOUR Excuse?  

  1. nancy says:

    I am enjoying these Scriture passages, I look forward to them. Thank-You

    Nancy

  2. Anne Comeaux says:

    The beginning of Vocations Awareness Week is certainly timed well today with the readings of the Call of Eli and the Call of the Apostles. The newly ordained (yesterday) priest who has been serving his diaconate year in our parish, preached today and focused on the “call” of all of us. Do we hear? Do we pay attention? Do we respond? Jeremiah is another great example of this call.

  3. Michelle says:

    Lovely post!

Leave a Reply

