To a Dear One About Whom I Have Been Concerned —  A Poem About Letting Go

[Sometimes, a family member can be a source of our greatest joys. Other times, a family member can fill us with worry, concern, fear and heartache. Here is a poem about letting go.  One thing I frequently tell people who share with me the pain and suffering they experience due to a relative or fiends addiction is that they are even more powerless than the addict over the addict’s addiction.  Many are the parents and grandparents who grieve children and grandchildren who don’t go to church.  Here is a wonderful poem about letting go.]

I behold the Christ in you.
I place you lovingly in the care of the All Caring One.
I release you from my anxiety and concern.
I let go of my possessive hold on you.
I am willing to free you to follow the dictates of
the indwelling Spirit.
I am willing to free you to live your life according to your best light and
understanding.
Husband, wife, child, friend,
I no longer try to force my ideas on you, my ways on you.
I lift my thoughts above you, above the personal level.
I see you as God sees you,
a spiritual being,
created in God’s image,
endowed with qualities and abilities that make you needed and
important not only to me but to God and God’s larger perspective.
I do not bind you.
I no longer believe that you do not have
the understanding you need in order to meet life.
I bless you
I have faith in you,
I behold Jesus in you.

— Herve Marcoux, OMI

[Heartlight provides positive resources for daily Christian Living such as the above illustration.    LINK TO HEARTLIGHT: http://www.heartlight.org%5D

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To a Dear One About Whom I Have Been Concerned —  A Poem About Letting Go

  1. What a beautiful prayer! We all need to learn that we have no control over the actions of others. The addicted are locked into a life that prevents them from seeing a rich alternate life, so we do best to pray for them, to place our concerns into God’s hands. Nothing positive is gained by trying to change an addict. It only brings us down by instilling in us more fear. Peace comes when we turn it all over to God. He is the Almighty One Who created heaven and earth, Who came to us in human form, Who died for our sins. Only He can lift the burden of worry from our shoulders.

Leave a Reply

