A Silly Saturday Look at Liturgical Nostalgia

[English speaking Roman Catholics throughout the world — except New Zealand — have been dealing with a new English translation of the Roman Missal.  Having already lived through the transition from an all Latin to an all English Mass, I wonder if some born since that time will wax nostalgic for the good old days when we were proud to proclaim, “Christ has died. Christ is risen.  Christ will come again!” One reason why it’s great to be Catholic is we can and do make fun of ourselves.   Here’s an example.]

Is there any part f the old translation you miss already? Please leave a comment below.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Silly Saturday Look at Liturgical Nostalgia

  1. This new translation seems to be like the Latin Mass I only vaguely remember. I think it is amusing that some people are so upset by it that they insist on combining new and old such as “AND ALSO WITH YOUR SPIRIT!!” Caps intended because they shout it. It does kind of throw me off. And I’m sure at some point they will accept the new version when no one pays any attention to them. I wonder if they think if they leave out the “also” this means the priest has higher standing than they do. Well, uh duh, he does. 🙂

  2. What I particularly like about the changes in Mass responses is that it takes us away from the rote aspect we comfortably were in all those years since the last of the Latin Mass. At least for still a good number of Sundays, we Mass attendees need to think the words before responding. We need to be alert, whereas before these changes the responses rang out from minds on auto pilot.

    While I am in favor of the changes, I would have liked it if at least the “through my fault, through my fault, through my most grievous fault” were said in Latin. Since the intent of the new translation was to translate as closely to the Latin as possible, a passage taking verbatim, in the original tongue, Latin, couldn’t hurt.

  3. Jimmy Ingram says:

    I absolutely hate the new translation.
    I particulary will not use the word – consubstantial.
    I cannot say the new “Lord, I am not worthy . . . . .” The previous version were MY words to the Lord before receiving Holy Communion, These are a Centurion Soldier’s words. The powers that be tell us that it is more biblical. Not so, the centurion did not use the word “soul”, but “servan”t.
    In a recent meeting of priests in the UK a number complained that “it is not even English”.
    Just wait until we get to the Easter Exsultet, the most glorious words of the whole year. This has been ruined.
    I have not heard one convincing ‘pastoral’ reason for the changes.

  4. Anne Comeaux says:

    The part I miss most is “WE believe…” I always felt that the “we” was important because we are one body of Christ during the celebration of the Eucharist. Community aspect is important to me and the plural binds us together as we pray. Yes, I know, the new translation is correct…you just asked what we missed.

  5. Denise says:

    Life is always changing, and life is about change. If we do not learn early to adapt and move forward, we end up angry and bitter. Change helps us stay aware of everything; otherwise, we would grow lazy and complacent. “If nothing changed, there’d be no butterflies,” is a message that sits atop my door frame in my office. My daughter gave it to me not long after my husband died. I am and was always taken aback by the question, “What do you miss?” I do not dwell on things I miss. I feel that is pointless. I focus on the here and now and accept changes wherever they occur. This is the healthy way to live in my opinion.

  6. Emma Doughton says:

    I agree with Denise 100%!

Leave a Reply

