When You See A Sunset

When You See a Sunset

When you see a sunset,
Do you say to yourself,
It’s too bright?;
There’s not enough color?
Probably not!
You just accept it
And maybe thank God for the sunset.

When you walk through a forest,
Do you say to yourself.
These trees are too tall?
There are too many leaves?
They are the wrong shade of green?
Probably not!
You just accept it
And maybe thank God for the forest.

You are one of God’s Children.
You are greater than any sunset
Any forest.
Why do you beat yourself up
Instead of knowing how wonderful you are?

Bob Martin

[Bob’s Blog — Recovery Thoughts– can be found on my Blog Roll in the right column of this BLOG]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When You See A Sunset

  1. Cindy Romano McGraw says:

    Very good reminder to just love ourselves as He loves us.

  2. Steve Veazey says:

    very nice!

  3. Denise says:

    That was number three of God’s affirmation of His Love for me, and how he sees me. He knows my hard-head, and he always answers me in threes. Thank you for being his instrument of peace!

Leave a Reply

