The Covenant Prayer Adapted by John Wesley

[The United Methodist Church has played a big part in the history of Christianity in Appalachia and elsewhere.  Here is a beautiful prayer all Christians can pray in faith and from the heart.]

The Covenant Prayer Adapted by John Wesley

I am no longer my own but yours.
Put me to what you will,
rank me with whom you will;
put me to doing, put me to suffering;
let me be employed for you,
or laid aside for you,
exalted for you,
or brought low for you;
let me be full,
let me be empty,
let me have all things,
let me have nothing:
I freely and wholeheartedly yield all things
to your pleasure and disposal.
And now, glorious and blessed God,
Father, Son and Holy Spirit,
you are mine and I am yours.

[The illustration is a logo for the United Methodist Church. This work is in the public domain in that it was published in the United States between 1923 and 1977 and without a copyright notice.  Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Covenant Prayer Adapted by John Wesley

  1. Ann Gore Price says:

    Thanks for adding a Methodist prayer to your blog…. from the Methodist organist and a fan of the blog.

Leave a Reply

