A Prayer of Asking

Loving God,
you cause rain to fall on the just and the unjust.
Hear our prayers:
for the hungry and the overfed,
may we have enough;
for the mourners and the mockers,
may we laugh together;j
for the victims and the oppressors,
may we share power wisely;
for the peacemakers and the warmongers,
may clear truth and stern love lead us to harmony;
for the silenced and the propagandists,
may we speak our own words in truth;
for the unemployed and the overworked,
may our mark on this earth be kindly and creative;
for the troubled and the secure,
may we live together as wounded healers;
for the homeless and the pampered,
may our homes be simple, warm, and welcoming;
for the vibrant and the dying,
may we all die to sin and live to love.  Amen.

Uniting Church of Canada
Celebrate God’s Presence in Weekly Worship 16T001

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Prayer of Asking

  1. A beautiful prayer; thank you. It reminds me of Saint Francis.

Leave a Reply

