Can It Be? – Mystic Monday Musings by Joyce Rupp

can it be?
have I for so long
forgotten to feed myself?
yes.
for nigh a year now
I was slowly starving.
getting lost in busy days,
tossing aside the hunger
that chewed away inside.

yet, I did not die.
by some quiet miracle
I made it to this moment
of truth:

I nearly starved to death.

it was not my body
that I failed to feed.
it was my spirit,
left alone for days
without nourishment or care.

and then one day
I paused to look within,
shocked at what I found:
so thin of faith,
so weak in understanding,
so needy of encouragement.

my starving spirit cried the truth:

I can!
I will!
I must
be fed!

– Joyce Rupp

“can it be?”  taken from Fresh Bread, by Joyce Rupp    Copyright 1985.
Used by permission of Ave Maria Press. All rights reserved.

http://www.amazon.com/Fresh-Bread-Other-Spiritual-Nourishment/dp/1594710856/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1322151869&sr=8-1

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

