HALLMARK THEOLOGY:   One Way God Answers Prayer   

[When I was in college seminary, we students sometimes made snide comments about “Hallmark Theology,” which was something easy to understand, syruppy sweet, memorable, and small enough to fit on a greeting card. Now that I am older, wiser, and a lot less cynical, I actually enjoy some hallmark theology. Of course, as with choosing greeting cards, time and care are needed in the selection process.

This is yet another nice thought by Anonymous who is sometimes referred to by his first and middle names — Author Unknown. Since we don’t know who wrote it, the message gets gets all our focus. And, as always, what means nothing to one might speak volumes to another.]

I Asked God

I asked God for all things that I might enjoy life…
God said, “Rather, I will give you life so that you may enjoy all things.”

I asked God to give me wisdom…
God said, “Rather, I will give you problems to solve so you may become wise.”

I asked God to give me strength…
God said, “Rather, I will give you difficulties to make you strong.”

I asked God to give me courage…
God said, “Rather, I will give you danger to overcome.”

I asked God to give me prosperity…
God said, “Rather, I will reward you with the fruits of your labor.”

I asked God to take away my pain…
God said, “Rather, It is not for me to take it away, but for you to give it up.”

I asked God to spare me pain…
God said, “Rather, Suffering draws you apart from worldly cares and draws you closer to me.”

I asked God to make my handicapped child whole…
God said, “Rather, the child’s spirit is whole, and it’s body is only temporary.”

I asked God to grant me patience…
God said, “Rather, patience isn’t granted, it’s learned through tribulation.”

I asked God to give me happiness…
God said, “Rather, I give you blessings. Happiness is up to you.”

I asked God to give me favors…
God said, “Rather, I will give you choices.”

I asked God to make my spirit grow…
God said, “Rather, your faith will give you growth, and I will prune you to make you fruitful.”

I asked God to give me love…
God said, “Rather, I will send to you those in need for you to give your love to.”

I asked God to help me love others, as much as He loves me…
God said, “Now you understand! Your love will shine through as you live my Way.”

This image (or other media file) is in the public domain because its copyright has expired. However – you may not use this image for commercial purposes and you may not alter the image or remove the WikiGallery watermark.

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Songs and Poetry, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HALLMARK THEOLOGY:   One Way God Answers Prayer   

  1. ralph says:

    one your better posts! we all should read this!
    keep up the good work

  2. nancy says:

    awesome just love it thanks Nancy

  3. Thank you Father Paul,

    These passages are truthful and filled with spiritual energy. They support a principle of understanding God – He expresses the importance of the idea of “testing” His creation. He wants His human creation to experience “difficulties,” not to make them miserable, rather, to have them (with His help) figure out ways to overcome them – in order to make them stronger, in order to make them better; to experience the Passion of Christ in their lives, so that they may rise with Him – a new being – a son or daughter of God.

Leave a Reply

