Blessed John Ruysbroeck      A Flemish Mystic (1293 – 1381)

The inward stirring and touching of God
makes us hungry and yearning;
for the Spirit of God hunts our spirit:
and the more it touches it,
the greater our hunger and our craving.
And this is the life of love in its highest working,
above reason and above understanding;
for reason can here neither give nor take away from love,
for our love is touched by the Divine love.
And as I understand it, here
there can never more be separation from God.
God’s touch within us, forasmuch as we feel it,
and our own loving craving,
these are both created and creaturely; and therefore
they may grow and increase as long as we live.

— Blessed John Ruysbroeck
A Flemish Mystic (1293 or 94 – 1381)

Link to Quote

[Picture: Small chapel near ruins of monastery at Groenendaal where Jan van Ruysbroeck lived and contemplated.    This file is made available under the Creative Commons CC0 1.0 Universal Public Domain Dedication and comes courtesy of  Thomas Faunce Wikimedia Commons.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Quotations, Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessed John Ruysbroeck      A Flemish Mystic (1293 – 1381)

  1. Denise says:

    Yesterday, I was in dismay at the world’s view as regards Valentine’s Day and love, in the modern world. Today, your post most eloquently describes the groanings of my heart. Blessed John Ruysbroeck knows that God is Love.

  2. Vesita Lowman says:

    can one be happy and sad at the same time…reading this made me smile and at the same time a tear fell…blessings

Leave a Reply

