Mystic Monday: Sojourners in Faith

Walk in the Woods Pictures, Images and Photos

Come long with me
as a sojourner in faith.
Bring along
a sense of expectancy
a vision of high hopes
a glimpse of future possibility
a vivid imagination
For God’s creation is not done.
We are called to pioneer forth
toward a future yet unnamed.
As we venture forward,
we leave behind our desire for
a no-risk life
worldly accumulations
certainty of answers.
Let us travel light
in the spirit of faith and expectation
toward the God of our hopes and dreams.

Let us be a witness
to God’s future breaking in.
Come along with me
as a sojourner in faith
secure in the knowledge
that we never travel alone.

Susan Gregg-Schroeder, “Sojourners in Faith,” Jerry B. Haas and Cynthia Langston Kirk, Rhythm and Fire: Experiencing the Holy in Community and Solitude.  Nashville: Upper Rooms Books, 2008, p. 116.

[Rhythm and Fire is a collection of brief reflections, poems, and prayers by fifty-four authors on different aspects of the the spiritual journey everyone is invited to walk. I was pleased to find this book fifty percent off at the Cokesbury Bookstore in Charleston, WV.]

Link

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

