Irish Wisdom from an Italian American on Marriage

WORDS OF IRISH WISDOM

A leprechaun once told me
“the Irish have the luck,”
so pretending I was Irish
I acted like a kluck,
waving four-leaf clovers,
broguing  in the green:
“top o’ the morning” all over,
the likes you’ve never seen.

Then I asked the little fellow
where I might find that pot of gold
and he laughed so hard he bellowed,
“That’s a legend that’s quite old.
The only way to riches
is work hard and persevere.
There ain’t no other hitches.
that’s what makes the gold appear.”

Now he’s gone forever,
but each year on Paddy’s Day,
I chant in my endeavor
to let magic come my way.
The gold that I was seeking
is an angel in my life:
Of what lassie am I speaking?
Why, begorra, she’s my wife!

             
(C) 2009 Salvatore Buttaci

[Sal is a retired teacher, published writer and poet, reader at Sunday Mass, all around nice guy, and a member of Sacred Heart Parish in Princeton, WV.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Songs and Poetry, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Irish Wisdom from an Italian American on Marriage

  1. nancy says:

    that is cute I enjoyed that.

  2. Good job…..be nice to the girls and they will be nice to you!!!

  3. Mike says:

    Nice poem.

    Mike (An Italian american in Florida)

  4. vision791 says:

    I’m Irish through and through, except for the equal parts of Scotish and English. Nice poem my friend.

    Jeanette

Leave a Reply

