On the Frequency of Confession

A previous post about 14 misconceptions that some people have about the sacrament of reconciliation has generated discussion about the frequency of coming to the sacrament. The Church obliges us to come to the sacrament at least once a year. As Matt Smith points out recent Popes have recommended frequent confession. Of course, they are too busy to spend hours a day in a confessional.

If you missed the post, you can find it here.

For an interesting take on the topic of frequent confession I recommend an amusing yet serious post by another WordPress blogger, here.

My thoughts:

any time one has committed a mortal sin;
any time one feels guilty about something;
once during Lent
once during Advent
once at the end of summer
any time the Holy Spirit moves you

As Dennis Miller used to say after one of his rants:
“That’s just my opinion. I could be wrong!”

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On the Frequency of Confession

  1. Matt Smith says:

    You write:

    “any time one feels guilty about something;”

    This seems very appropriate to me when discussing confession of venial sin. While it’s nice to set a timeframe for receiving the sacrament simply because people tend to operate better with structure, it’s not always practical or helpful. There are times when venial sins pile up, begin to suffocate us, and may even cause us to despair. Any time that begins to happen and we feel the pangs of guilt, we should run to the sacrament as quickly as we can, even knowing that forgiveness can come from many places.

  2. Barbara Lilly says:

    True, but you don’t need to run to the Sacrament. It is there whenever you need or want it. Sometimes you do not have a pile of venial sins but choose just to be in the state of grace.If you attend Mass and read the creed, forgiveness is there, in our prayers, forgiveness is there , Fr Paul is around for confessions at any scheduled time, before and after Mass. I am a person that sets a time to complete each task I choose to do in life.I like organization and do not believe putting thing off until the last minute.. Timeframes for the Sacrament is not one I want to set. I choose to be in the state of grace and will always be ready for Jesus. You can not predict what another may need or want in their lives. The window of opportunity just needs to be available.

  3. Barbara Lilly says:

    Matt, hope you have a blessed day and I will not argue your points which I thought I was Just only expressing my oppinon. Enjoy expressing you comments.

Leave a Reply

