Longing: One of The Seven Last Words of Christ – V

[Since the 16th century preachers Christians have made reflecting on The Seven Last Words of Jesus a part of a lenten preparation to celebrate Easter.  The “words” are actually sentences: three from the Gospel of Luke; three from the Gospel of John, and one found both in Matthew and Mark gospels. A great many writers and preachers have included all seven in one homily or reflection.  Many have preached a series of seven homilies (one for each word).  A few have written a book on the subject.  The artwork is copyrighted by Irish painter John Dunne and can be found online here. The reflections are written and copywritten by Dr. Mark D. Roberts,  a pastor, author, retreat leader, speaker, and blogger.  You can find them here.]

I am thirsty.” (John 19:28)

Reflection

No doubt Jesus experienced extreme thirst while being crucified.
He would have lost a substantial quantity of bodily fluid, both blood and sweat, through what he had endured even prior to crucifixion.
Thus his statement, “I am thirsty” was,
on the most obvious level, a request for something to drink.
In response the soldiers gave Jesus “sour wine” (v. 29),
a cheap beverage common among lower class people in the time of Jesus.

John notes that Jesus said “I am thirsty,”
not only as a statement of physical reality,
but also in order to fulfill the Scripture.
Though there is no specific reference in the text of the Gospel,
it’s likely that John was thinking of Psalm 69, which includes this passage:

Their insults have broken my heart,
and I am in despair.
If only one person would show some pity;
if only one would turn and comfort me.
But instead, they give me poison for food;
they offer me sour wine for my thirst.
(vv. 20-21)

As he suffered, Jesus embodied the pain of the people of Israel,
that which had been captured in the Psalms.
Jesus was suffering for the sin of Israel,
even as he was taking upon himself the sin of the world.

As I reflect on Jesus’ statement, “I am thirsty,”
I keep thinking of my own thirst.
It’s nothing like that of Jesus.
Rather, I am thirsty for him.
My soul yearns for the living water that Jesus supplies (John 4:10; 7:38-39).
I rejoice in the fact that he suffered physical thirst on the cross –
and so much more – so that my thirst for the water of life might be quenched.

Questions for Reflection

How do you respond to Jesus’ statement “I am thirsty”? What does this statement suggest to you about Jesus? About yourself?

Prayer

O Lord,
once again I thank you for what you suffered on the cross.
Besides extraordinary pain, you also experienced extreme thirst.
All of this was part and parcel of your taking on our humanity
so that you might take away our sin.

Dear Lord, in your words “I am thirsty”
I hear the cry of my own heart.
I too am thirsty, Lord,
not for physical drink. I don’t need sour wine.
Rather, I need the new wine of your kingdom to flood my soul.
I need to be refreshed by your living water.
I yearn for your Spirit to fill me once again.

I am thirsty, Lord, for you. Amen.

Link:  http://www.johndunneartist.com/7lastwords.html

Link:  http://www.patheos.com/community/markdroberts/series/the-seven-last-words-of-christ-reflections-for-holy-week/

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Liturgy, Prayer, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Longing: One of The Seven Last Words of Christ – V

  1. Anne Comeaux says:

    What does “I am thirsty tell me about Jesus?’ It is a realization of Jesus’ humanity. Another reminder that much of what Jesus experienced on earth can be connected to my everydayness. It is a sign of his…and my…human condition.
    What does it say about me? I am thirsty for the presence of Jesus in my life. I never have enough of him. I need to bring that thirst to mind more often…especially during this holy week.

Leave a Reply

