Self-surrender: One of The Seven Last Words of Christ – VI

[Since the 16th century preachers Christians have made reflecting on The Seven Last Words of Jesus a part of a lenten preparation to celebrate Easter.  The “words” are actually sentences: three from the Gospel of Luke; three from the Gospel of John, and one found both in Matthew and Mark gospels. A great many writers and preachers have included all seven in one homily or reflection.  Many have preached a series of seven homilies (one for each word).  A few have written a book on the subject.  The artwork is copyrighted by Irish painter John Dunne and can be found online here. The reflections are written and copywritten by Dr. Mark D. Roberts,  a pastor, author, retreat leader, speaker, and blogger.  You can find them here.]

It is finished!”     (John 19:30)

Reflection

I never saw a more difficult film to watch
than Mel Gibson’s The Passion of the Christ.
For most of that movie I wanted to avert my eyes.
It was horrible to watch even a cinematic version of a crucifixion.
And it was beyond comprehension
to think that this actually happened to somebody,
and not just anybody, but my Lord and Savior.
I had studied the crucifixion before, and
knew in my head what Jesus experienced.
But seeing a visual presentation of his suffering
was almost more than I could bear.
When The Passion of the Christ was over,
I felt palpable relief. Thank goodness it was finished.

When Jesus said “It is finished,”
surely he was expressing relief that his suffering was over.
“It is finished” meant, in part, “This is finally done!”
But the Greek verb translated as “It is finished”
(tetelestai) means more than just this.
Eugene Peterson captures the full sense of the verb in The Message:
“It’s done . . . complete.” Jesus had accomplished his mission.
He had announced and inaugurated the kingdom of God.
He had revealed the love and grace of God.
And he had embodied that love and grace
by dying for the sin of the world,
thus opening up the way for all to live under the reign of God.

Because Jesus finished his work of salvation,
you and I don’t need to add to it.
In fact, we can’t.
He accomplished what we never could,
taking our sin upon himself and giving us his life in return.
Jesus finished that for which he had been sent,
and we are the beneficiaries of his unique effort.
Because of what he finished, you and I are never “finished.”
We have hope for this life and for the next.
We know that nothing can separate us from God’s love.
One day what God has begun in us will also be finished, by his grace.
Until that day, we live in the confidence of Jesus’ cry of victory: “It is finished!”

Questions for Reflection

Do you live as if Jesus finished the work of salvation? To you have confidence that God will finish that which he has begun in you?

Prayer

How can I ever find words
to express my gratitude to you, dear Lord Jesus?
You did it.
You finished that for which you had been sent,
faithful in life, faithful in death.
You accomplished that which no other person could do,
taking the sin of the world upon your sinless shoulders . . .
taking my sin so that I might receive your forgiveness and new life.

All praise be to you, gracious Lord, for finishing the work of salvation.
All praise be to you, dear Jesus, for saving me! Alleluia! Amen.

Link:  http://www.johndunneartist.com/7lastwords.html

Link:  http://www.patheos.com/community/markdroberts/series/the-seven-last-words-of-christ-reflections-for-holy-week/

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Liturgy, Prayer, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self-surrender: One of The Seven Last Words of Christ – VI

  1. Claire T. Lampert says:

    Your being able to share this particular blog with so many makes me realize the value to technology. It’s kind of like one of those ‘shout it from the rooftops’ moments…and just think, you did that.

  2. Kelly Rose says:

    Absolutely Clair. Now, when I read my mail, there’s god in there! Before this blog, I may not have taken the time to think about the heavenly dimension we live in every day. Now I do.

    “Do you live as if Jesus finished the work of salvation?”
    Absolutely not. For me, the challenge is to live life as he did. For me, salvation is in the present moment and if I make the wrong decisions in my life, I have to live knowing that I did. And that is pure hell. What I like about Jesus is forgiveness. It’s win/win. A win for the forgiver and a win for the forgiven! Talk about release and rapture.

    “Do you have confidence that God will finish that which he has begun in you?”
    I believe there is a spirit that moves me, but the question for me is, do I have confidence in myself to walk the path? Can I love myself inspite of myself? Can I forgive myself and in doing so, move forward? If I can solve that tension, I win!

  3. Barbara Lilly says:

    I like the comment shouting from the roof tops….. Alleluia!

Leave a Reply

