Y Eye Kant Spel Whale.  Khan Ewe? Saturday Silliness

[When I was living in Williamson, WV from 1986-1989 I saw a sign on a fast-food restaurant door: HELP WANTED – aplications being excepted.  My confidence in my spelling has become less and less as time goes by. I may be wrong, but I am convinced that using spell checks has caused my spelling ability to deteriorate faster!]

Ode to a Spell Checker

I have a spelling checker
I disk covered four my PC.
It plane lee marks four my revue
Miss steaks aye can knot see.
Eye ran this poem threw it.
Your sure real glad two no.
Its very polished in its weigh,
My checker tolled me sew.

A checker is a blessing.
It freeze yew lodes of thyme.
It helps me right awl stiles two reed,
And aides me when aye rime.

Each frays comes posed up on my screen
Eye trussed too bee a joule.
The checker pours o’er every word
To cheque sum spelling rule.

Bee fore wee rote with checkers
Hour spelling was inn deck line,
Butt now when wee dew have a laps,
Wee are not maid too wine.

And now bee cause my spelling
Is checked with such grate flare,
There are know faults in awl this peace,
Of nun eye am a wear.

To rite with care is quite a feet
Of witch won should be proud,
And wee mussed dew the best wee can,
Sew flaws are knot aloud.

That’s why eye brake in two averse
Caws Eye dew want too please.
Sow glad eye yam that aye did bye
This soft wear four pea seas.

Spelling Poem

Eye halve a spelling chequer
It came with my pea sea
It plainly marques four my revue
Miss steaks eye kin knot sea.

Eye strike a key and type a word
And weight four it two say
Weather eye am wrong oar write
It shows me strait a weigh.

As soon as a mist ache is maid
It nose bee fore two long
And eye can put the error rite
Its rare lea ever wrong.

Eye have run this poem threw it
I am shore your pleased two no
Its letter perfect awl the weigh
My chequer tolled me sew.

[Funny Times is a humor magazine with cartoons and columnists that make you laugh, moan, scream and cry. They are kind enough to allow me to reprint the occasional cartoon.  Of course, humor — like beauty — is often in the eye or ear of the beholder.  http://www.funnytimes.com]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Y Eye Kant Spel Whale.  Khan Ewe? Saturday Silliness

  1. MaryLu says:

    Very clever, but too true!

  2. Catherine says:

    Eye shore am plea eased your dewing Sat her dei Seal lea ness. Aye no wee awl knead moher seal lea ness sin hour daze. Wee khan bee come sow sew so sirius. seer he us lea. Smile~

  3. Denise says:

    Eye can, butt sum times win I am tired, I make miss steaks. Thank ewe for the seal lea ness!

  4. Anne Comeaux says:

    As a former English teacher, I lose my cool over things like this frequently. Some of my pet peeves are “your” (as in: your my best friend) and “alot” (I like this blog alot). Personally, I was a very good speller until I taught 7th grade. Then I saw things wrong so many times I started to believe them. Great Saturday contribution!

  5. Barbara Lilly says:

    Aye make Mis steaks all th tymne. Tanks for the laugh.

Leave a Reply

