Saint Mary Mazzarello (1837-1881) ON PRAYER

[This is the tenth of a series of posts featuring a saint, mystic, or writer to include some of their thoughts on prayer as well as a prayer written by or ascribed to him or her.  May 13 is this saint’s Feast day For more about her, visit the Saint of the Day blog on the right column of this blog.]

When the cross gets heavy, look at the crucifix and say,
“Jesus, You are my strength”

Make up your mind to become a saint.

A Prayer by Saint Mary Mazzarello
Lord, I did not know that
I could make up my mind to become a saint.
Yet why not?
It is not that I can become a saint by my own power,
because it is only through Your grace that sanctity comes.
But if I make up my mind to become a saint,
then I must have made up my mind to always do YOUR WILL.
You will that everyone become a saint.
So Your Will would be sanctity for me.
You know the way to bring me to holiness in my life.
Help me to walk with You, wherever You go,
to bring me to that holiness. Amen.

[This photo is in the public domain due to its age; PD-OLD-100.]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Quotations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

