A Prayer of Thanks 

PSALMS 106:1	 Praise the Lord! Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good! His faithful love endures forever. Pictures, Images and Photos

Because we did not make ourselves;
Because we do not keep ourselves;
Because we cannot forgive ourselves;
Our hearts reach out to you, O God.
We thank you for our creation, preservation, and redemption:
for hills to climb,
burdens to carry,
temptations to resist,
and fears to overcome.
We thank you for all that helps us in our pilgrimage:
the remembrance of those who walked this way before us and
did it well;
signs of your presence, often in unlikely places, giving us to
know that we are not alone;
the unanswerable logic of lives given over to your service in
selfless love;
the work of your Holy Spirit in our minds and hearts, uniting
for us the Jesus of history and the Christ of faith.
With all that lies within us we acclaim your goodness and speak your praise,
through Jesus Christ our Lord.
— Ernest T. Campbell in Where Cross the Crowded Ways: Prayers of a City Pastor

[BOOK: http://www.amazon.com/Where-Cross-Crowded-Ways-Campbell/dp/0802829813/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1328978250&sr=8-1]

[PHOTO by 2bornlady on photobucket]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Prayer of Thanks 

  1. Kelly Rose says:

    Where’s Denise? : )

    Someone taught me that you can beat the WordPress conversion to emoticons by simply putting a space between your colon and parenthetical bracket. I’m thrilled! Don’t know why the emoticons bother me so much? I’ve always had an aversion to them? They’re loud and annoying to me?

Leave a Reply

