Saturday Cinema: The Good Life  – – (3 minutes, 6 seconds)

 
[If good things come in small packages and a picture is worth a thousand words, then this short-film is worth your time.  The idea behind my occasional Saturday Cinema selection is to give you something to think and pray about.  Please share your thoughts and ideas by leaving a comment.]   

Saturday Psalm – Sixty-two

My soul rests in God alone
from whom comes my salvation.

God alone is my rock and salvation,
my fortress; I shall never fall.

My soul, be at rest in God alone,
from whom comes my hope.

God alone is my rock and my salvation,
my fortress; I shall not fall.

My deliverance and honor are with God,
my strong rock;
my refuge is with God.

Trust God at all times, my people!
Pour out your hearts to God our refuge!

Mortals are a mere breath,
[humans are] but an illusion;
On a balance they rise;
together they weigh nothing.

Do not trust in extortion;
in plunder put no empty hope.
On wealth that increases,
do not set your heart.

One thing God has said;
two things I have heard:
Strength belongs to God;

so too, my Lord, does mercy,
For you repay each one
according to his deeds.

— Psalm 62:2-3, 6-13

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Stories, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday Cinema: The Good Life  – – (3 minutes, 6 seconds)

  1. Pedro Erik says:

    I am economist, struggling in understand how far we can defend distrubutivism (Rerum Novarum and Hilaire Belloc ideas) to the mainstream economics today.
    I loved the video and psalm.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

