Holy Virgin, Help Me to Receive Jesus from the Spirit

Holy Virgin, Help Me to Receive Jesus from the Spirit

Holy Virgin, I beg you:
enable me to receive Jesus from the Spirit,
according to the same process
by which you bore Him.
May my soul possess Christ,
thanks to the Spirit
through Whom you conceived Christ.
May the grace to know Jesus
be granted to me through the Spirit
Who enabled you to know how to possess Jesus
and bring him forth.
May my littleness show forth
the greatness of Christ
in virtue of the Spirit
in Whom you recognized yourself
as the handmaid of the Lord,
desiring that it be done to you
according to the word of the angel.
May I love Christ in the Spirit
in whom you adored Him as your Lord
and looked after Him as your son.
–St. Ildefonsus of Toledo (d. 667)

[SOURCE: Blessed Art Thou: A Treasury of Marian Prayers and Devotions.  Richard J. Beyer, Notre Dame, IN : Ave Maria Press,  1996.]

[PHOTO by Frosty908 on photobucket.com]

About Paul Wharton

I am a cradle Catholic, a native West Virginian, and a priest since April 24, 1982. Spiritual Direction has made a tremendous difference in my life and I encourage people to try it out. My motto is "Progress not perfection." I am grateful that God has done for me what I could not do for myself.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holy Virgin, Help Me to Receive Jesus from the Spirit

  1. Barbara Lilly says:

    Before going to bed I read my 7th day Novena and now ending my morning prayers with this prayer will make my day special. My I always love Christ in the Spirit.
    Thank you for sharing reading and picture.

Leave a Reply

